For users who have opted out of tracking and experimentation, Apptimize provides an
opt-out mechanism via our iOS and Android disable() and setOffline() APIs. You can
use these APIs to completely disable Apptimize or set it offline for specific users.
If you disable Apptimize, no tests will be run and it will show the “original” or default
experience to all users. Any feature flags you have ON will be turned OFF. When this
setting is activated, the SDK also does not collect any data or post results. Note that
once activated, this state only persists for one application session and will need to be
reactivated for a new session.
If you set Apptimize to offline mode, then it will be “freezing” the experiences as of the
it’s last metadata package. All network traffic will be disabled and the SDK will not
receive any updates to the metadata or upload results. This setting persists across
multiple app sessions so once activated, you will have to explicitly disable the offline
mode for the device to start sending and receiving data again.